Located on East Main Street, the one-room Green School was built in 1871 and was in continual use until 1941, when it was closed.
The one-room Green School operated as an “ungraded” or “mixed” grade school, where students ranging in age from 5 to 15 and older were organized by ability rather than age or grade.
By 1914, Massachusetts still had 800 one-room school houses, of which 13 were located in Middleborough, and the movement was for consolidation into larger, more centralized schools.
Reopened for a short period of time in the 1990s, the Green School was threatened with demolition in 2009, in part because of a heating oil leak. A group of community volunteers stepped forward to save it.
The 19th-century former schoolhouse, which sits on what was the town green in colonial days, has been renovated by a group of volunteers with donations from the public, many of them local residents and former residents who attended the one-room schoolhouse before it was closed in the 1990s. Thanks to the interest of the community and supported by financial contributions by residents and former pupils, the building has been preserved, the exterior restored and discussions are underway to determine how best to preserve, use and showcase this original one-room schoolhouse.
Photo courtesy of Nicole Jacquelyn Photography and Design.